The Pakistan Super League (PSL)

The Pakistan Super League (PSL)

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) is a major professional Twenty-20 cricket league in which five franchised clubs will participate in the first season. The PSL Cup will be awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each season. The Pakistan Super League will be organized in 2016 from 4 Feb To 24 Feb and will be called HBL PSL (HBL Bank is the title sponsor of PSL, Habib Bank Limited has bought the tournament’s title sponsorship for a period of three years). The league will draw many highly skilled players from all over the world, and currently has players signed from approximately 11 different countries (9 Full and 2 Associate Members). Pakistani players will constitute the majority of the players in the league.

The early commercial rights of franchises were sold out for US$93 million for the span of 10 years in December 2015.

The debut season of PSL is to be held in 2016. The season will commence on 4 February and the final match will be held on 23 February 2016. The five teams for the first season will represent five major cities of Pakistan Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore, Quetta and Peshawar.

Schedule, Fixtures & Time Table

Franchises Auction

The early commercial rights of franchises were sold out for US$93 million for the span of 10 years in December 2015.The PSL’s title sponsorship goes to Pakistan’s Primary bank Habib Bank Limited. Karachi became the most expensive team with the ARY Group shelling out $26 million to gain ownership.

  • ARY Group purchased Karachi for $26 million
  • Qatar Oil purchased Lahore for $25 million
  • Leonine Global Sports purchased Islamabad for $15 million
  • Haier purchased Peshawar for $16 million
  • Omar Associates purchased Quetta for $11 million
READ  Exercises That Burn Fats more than anything!

PSL Teams

The official teams list include 4 provincial teams & one federal team (Islamabad) that are set to take part in the inaugural season.

  • Karachi Kings
  • Lahore Qalandars
  • Peshawar Zalmi
  • Islamabad United
  • Quetta Gladiators

Players Incentives

  • Diamond: $100,000
  • Platinum: $70,000
  • Gold: $50,000
  • Silver: $25,000
  • Emerging: $5,000–$10,000

PSL 2017 Final Draft

Top foreign players have been roped in for the 2nd season of Pakistan Super League PSL 2017 in UAE that include players from almost all major cricket playing nations like Australia, England, Bangladesh, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and other countries. PCB has first drafted a preliminary list which is consisted of players who have consented (mostly written) to play for the PSL. A final list of players will be finalized through drafting. All Players included in PSL T20 draft will be distributed in five categories according to experience and pay scale; Platinum, Diamond, Gold, Silver and Emerging.

Platinum Players List


Diamond Players List

Gold Players List

Silver Players List


Ten Sports and PTV Sports are official home broadcasters for a period of three years. The value of the broadcasting deal is $15 million, with the PCB selling the Global television rights to Tech Front, a United Arab Emirati group, for the same duration.

Related Articles: Dance in functions(Marriages) is allowed Whereas Dance in Car is so much Funny?


Related posts

One Thought to “The Pakistan Super League (PSL)”